CFDRR Legacy Society logo

The Legacy Society

The Legacy Society honors those who have made a lasting commitment to The Community Foundation of the Dan River Region. Individuals who designate a gift to The Community Foundation through a will, trust, retirement plan beneficiary or other planned gift are invited to join our Legacy

Membership is voluntary and free. Bequest gifts of all sizes are important and welcomed. Disclosure of gift amount or type is not required. Legacy members will be celebrated at an annual Legacy Society reception. Members will also be recognized in publications and receive invitations to other Foundation events.

You can always remain anonymous in your philanthropy. However, Legacy Society participants are an inspiration to others to look toward the future and learn how they too can have an enduring impact on the causes they care about.

Legacy Society Sign up Form

Inaugural Members of The Legacy Society include:

Lamar G. Barr
Jim and Susan Daniel
Dr. Elizabeth Compton
Niles and Carol Daly
Jim and Susan Daniel
Inara Aster Dodson
Judie Adkerson Dodson
Androniki Fallis
Ralph and Ruth Hess
Peter and Jo Ann Howard
Victor Millner, Jr.
Frances Skenderis
Jeff and Angie Smith

Early Legacy Donors include:

Since its beginning in 1996, The Community Foundation has received bequests and gifts totaling $11.3 million from the estates of the following donors:

Earl Allen
James R. Anderson
P. Lanier Anderson, Jr.
Dorothy Braswell
Henrietta Clark
Mary Virginia Collie
Mary Jo Davis
Roy L. Doss
Eugene Evans
Dolores Feldman
Douglas Hayes
Eliza Patterson Hines
Robert T. Marshall
Moses Merricks
Arnold and Elizabeth Porter
Herbert Sater
Mary Carter Stone
Benjamin Sugg
John C. Swanson, Jr.
Harold D. Tinsley

Contact your financial or legal advisor to discuss how you can use one of the following gifts to establish a permanent legacy with The Community Foundation: