Celebrating CFDRR’s History: First Director

CFDRR’s 25th Anniversary: Celebrating Key Milestones in Our History

In 1996, the Foundation hired its first part-time Executive Director, Bob Wiles (left).  He directed the inception and growth of the Foundation with care, enthusiasm, and dedication.  Mr. Wiles was instrumental in attaining over $10 million in assets during his service to the Foundation.


Bob Wiles and Fred Leggett

Celebrating CFDRR’s History: The RiverBank Fund

CFDRR’s 25th Anniversary: Celebrating Key Milestones in Our History

In 2015, The RiverBank Fund was created to establish an initiative to protect and enhance the Dan River.


Celebrating CFDRR’s History: Workforce Solutions Fund

CFDRR’s 25th Anniversary: Celebrating Key Milestones in Our History

In 2008, CFDRR became the fiscal agent for the regional National Fund for Workforce Solutions Collaborative and created the Workforce Solutions Fund. CFDRR accepted local, regional, and national funding on behalf of local workforce development efforts, and returned this funding to the community through grants. This partnership ran through 2015. Danville became a Southern Virginia Certified Work Ready Community, the fifth community to do so in Virginia!


25th Anniversary Open House Celebration!

CFDRR would like to thank the 58 guests who celebrated with us at our 25th Anniversary Open House on Sept. 10! The celebration included speakers and spontaneous sharing of stories highlighting CFDRR’s history of impact. CFDRR held a surprise $2,500 grant drawing in recognition of nonprofit organizations that are so vital in helping CFDRR connect donors to the resources and causes important to them and our community. Congratulations to the Virginia Chapter of the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention, serving Danville-Pittsylvania County, winner of the drawing! CFDRR’s 25th Anniversary Fundraising Campaign will run until Dec. 31, with the goal of raising $25,000.

Photo credits: Ralph Adams Photography


Celebrating CFDRR’s History: 2008

CFDRR’s 25th Anniversary: Celebrating Key Milestones in Our History

In 2008, assets of the Dan River, Inc. Foundation were transferred to create the Dan River Inc. Endowment Fund of The Community Foundation of the Dan River Region. Grants from this fund benefit nonprofit organizations in Danville-Pittsylvania County that provide a variety of services, including education, arts and culture, workforce and economic development, literacy and tutoring, and health care.


You’re Invited!

You’re Invited to CFDRR’s Anniversary Open House!

RSVP here: https://cfdrr25.eventbrite.com

Schedule of Events:

12:15 PM: Cake Cutting and Light Refreshments Served

12:45 PM: Words of Gratitude and Voices of Impact

1:15 PM: Special Grant Drawing

We would love to hear stories of how The Community Foundation has impacted you or your organization! During our Voices of Impact section, you will have the opportunity to share your story with our community of supporters.

You are welcome to drop in and say hello anytime from 12:00-2:00 PM. This is an informal, open-house style celebration. We look forward to seeing you there!

Video Grant Reporting: Jane Jones Food Pantry

New for 2021:  Video Grant Reporting

View the video to see the impact of CFDRR and Jane Jones Food Pantry’s partnership in Halifax County.

#cfdrrinfluencersforgood #cfdrrcelebratingtwentyfiveyears

Welcome, Brian Wilson!

CFDRR is excited to welcome our new Board of Directors President for fiscal year 2021-2022, Brian Wilson! Brian has been a dedicated community leader on the CFDRR Board for four years, and has given much highly valued time and energy to our Distribution Committee and as Vice President. We look forward to Brian’s leadership as CFDRR celebrates its 25th year in service to our community.

Brian Wilson, CFDRR President 2021-2022

CFDRR Article in the Chatham Star Tribune Progress Edition

The Community Foundation is honored to be recognized in the Chatham Star Tribune’s 2021 Progress Edition. Read the full article here.

Danville Regional Foundation Continues its Partnership with CFDRR

In the news: Danville Regional Foundation (DRF) continues its partnership with The Community Foundation of the Dan River Region, committing $750,000 for granting purposes over the next three years, plus a $50,000 grant for The Community Foundation’s “board and staff capacity development.” Read the press release in the Danville Register and Bee here.